Main Page Contact Contents Useful Links
The Foundation
Awards - Distinctions
WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award
Mariolopoulos – Kanaginis Foundation Gold Medal
Special Awards
Meetings - Workshops
Research Projects
Awards - Distinctions \ WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award \ Proclamation for 2018


WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award for 2018

Nominations should be received before June 30, 2017

The "Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation for the Environmental Sciences" is a non-profit non-governmental Organization aiming at promoting and awarding atmospheric environmental research. The "WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award", established by its Board of Directors under the auspices of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) of the UN, is granted every two years and accompanied by a prize of US $2,000 and a Certificate. The Foundation provides additional US $3,000 to the awardee.

The "WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award" is presented for an outstanding research paper in atmospheric sciences, published during the last two years in a refereed journal by a young scientist (age below 35 years on the date of publication).

Nominations can be made by:
a. the National Committees of the International Association of Meteorological and Atmospheric Sciences (IAMAS)
b. IAMAS Commissions
c. by the Directors of the National Meteorological Services
d. self-nominations are also accepted.

The nomination should include:
a. three reprints of the paper
b. brief curriculum vitae of the nominee
c. a reference letter by a senior scientist or a Member of the National Meteorological Service

The nominations and the papers must be submitted in one of the official WMO languages (English, French, Spanish, Russian). Non-English papers should be accompanied by a translation in English. The nominations should be sent to:

Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation for the Environmental Sciences

"WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award"

Patriarchou Ioakim 30-32, 10675, Athens, Greece

and electronically to

Deadline for submission is the 30th of June, 2017. The method of selection includes the establishment of a Reviewing Committee comprised of distinguished scientists in the field of atmospheric sciences. The Committee members are designated by the Secretary-General of WMO, the Directorate General of Research of EU and the Board of Directors of the Foundation. The Foundation may decide not to give the award, if none of the papers submitted is of a sufficient high scientific standard. The award is presented to the awardee by the Secretary-General of WMO or a representative of WMO or the Foundation at an appropriate scientific meeting or Ceremony.

From the Mariolopoulos - Kanaginis Foundation

Athens, 11 November 2016


Extract of paragraphs 7.2.6 and 7.2.7 and Annex VI

from the final Report of the 47th session

of the Executive Council of WMO

Geneva, 1996


Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award

7.2.6 The Council noted with appreciation the proposal to establish a Trust Fund to commemorate the distinguished contributions of the late Professor Mariolopoulos to modern meteorology and climatology particularly in Greece, his native country. Beginning in 1996, the Trust Fund would provide every second year an award to stimulate research and understanding of the atmospheric environment. It was agreed that for this Trust Fund, the Secretary-General representing WMO would make the decisions concerning the evaluation of candidates and the utilization of financial resources (see Annex VI) in collaboration with the Mariolopoulos - Kanaginis Foundation (MKF).


Future Awards

7.2.7 The Council, whilst supportive of the commemorative awards and the research efforts which they recognized, noted that the selection process consumed an increasing amount of its time. It therefore decided that future awards approved by the Council should be completely self-supporting and the selection process conducted outside the session of the Executive Council.



Annex to paragraph 7.2.6. of the general summary


Agreement on the Establishment

of the Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award



(1) The Mariolopoulos - Kanaginis Foundation (MKF) wishes to commemorate the distinguished contributions of the late Professor Mariolopoulos to meteorology by establishing the Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award in atmospheric environment.

(2) The World Meteorological Organization is prepared to administer such a fund;


IT IS AGREED by the Mariolopoulos - Kanaginis Foundation (MKF), on the hand, and the World Meteorological Organization, represented by its Secretary-General, on the other that:


1. Upon receipt from the Mariolopoulos - Kanaginis Foundation (MKF) of the sum of US $30,000 to be deposited to WMO in 1995, the Secretary-General will establish the Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund. This is done on the understanding that a similar amount will be deposited by May 1996 in addition to US $2,000 to grant the initial award in June 1996;


2. The US $30,000 Fund shall be invested by the Secretary-General and the interests derived there from shall be used in the prescribed manner for the following purposes:

(a) Financial grants shall be made every second year beginning in 1996 (provided that sufficient interest has accumulated) in the form of an award to an individual, either for a distinguished contribution in the field of Atmospheric Environmental Sciences and / or for an original scientific paper in the field;

(b) The awards are intended to stimulate interest in research and the understanding of the atmospheric environment;

(c) The awards shall be made by decision of a committee of three distinguished scientists; one designated by the WMO Secretary-General; another designated by the Director-General for Science Research and Development of the European Union and the third, to be designated by the Board of Directors of MKF;

(d) The award will consist of a medal and a sum of US $2,000;

This Trust Fund will be established for a duration of twenty years, to be considered thereafter in a manner compatible with its initial purpose.


Copyright 2008 Mariolopoulos - Kanaginis Fountation for the Environmental Sciences All rights reserved