Main Page Contact Contents Useful Links
The Foundation
Awards - Distinctions
WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award
Mariolopoulos – Kanaginis Foundation Gold Medal
Special Awards
Meetings - Workshops
Research Projects
Awards - Distinctions \ WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award


WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award

Awards 1998 - 2016

Proclamation for 2018


In 1996 the Board of Directors of the Foundation, after efforts of his Excellency the former Secretary-General of WMO, Prof. G.O.P. Obasi, the Vice-President and now President of the Foundation Prof. C. Zerefos and the Director of the National Meteorological Service, established a special account at the World Meteorological Organization in Geneva under the title: "WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award". This account, which was based on Mariolopoulos - Kanaginis Foundation own resources, aims to finance awards dedicated to the memory of late Professor Mariolopoulos under the auspices of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO).

This special account, as mentioned in the proposal of the Secretary-General of WMO, was established to award young scientists in recognition of the exceptional contribution of Professor Mariolopoulos in todays Meteorology and Climatology mainly in his motherland.

The award is granted for an outstanding research paper in atmospheric sciences published or accepted during the last two years in a refereed journal by a young scientist (age below 35 years by the date of publication). Nominations could be made by the National Committees of the International Association of Meteorological and Atmospheric Sciences (IAMAS), IAMAS Commissions and/or by the Directors of the National Meteorological Services. The nominations and the papers must be submitted in one of the official WMO languages (English, French, Spanish, Russian). Non-English papers should be accompanied by a translation of the paper in English.

The referee Committee is constituted from prominent scientists from the World Meteorological Organization, the European Commission (Directorate of Science, Research and Development) and from the Board of Trustees of the Foundation. The Secretary General of WMO participates to the prize award Committee. It is the first award of a UN Organization which is awarded in the memory of a Greek scientist.

Extract of paragraph 7.2.6

from the final Report of the 47th session

of the Executive Council

of the World Meteorological Organization

Geneva, 1996

WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award

7.2.6 The Council noted with appreciation the proposal to establish a Trust Fund to commemorate the distinguished contributions of the late Professor Mariolopoulos to modern meteorology and climatology particularly in Greece, his native country. Beginning in 1996, the Trust Fund would provide every second year an award to stimulate research and understanding of the atmospheric environment. It was agreed that for this Trust Fund, the Secretary-General representing WMO would make the decisions concerning the evaluation of candidates and the utilization of financial resources (see Annex VI) in collaboration with the Mariolopoulos- Kanaginis Foundation (MKF).


Copyright 2008 Mariolopoulos - Kanaginis Fountation for the Environmental Sciences All rights reserved